On 12-14 November 2019, a regional workshop on inter-agency cooperation in the area of joint strategic management was held in Ashgabat, Turkmenistan. The workshop gathered 20 representatives of border and customs agencies from Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan and was facilitated by experts from the State Border Guard of Latvia, State Revenue Service of Latvia and Estonian Academy of Internal Security. The main aim of the workshop was to strengthen inter-agency cooperation by developing practical recommendations on joint strategic management in border agencies.

On the 14 November 2019, a transfer ceremony of video/photo editing equipment purchased by BOMCA Programme for a total amount of 58,000 Euros was held. PC computer with two monitors, photo camera with lens, action cameras, trap cameras, notebook, drone with camera, mobile video streaming studio and other components were provided for the Training Unit of Cynology Department of the State Border Service. Above mentioned equipment will be used for preparation of video training materials and enhance the use of innovative educational approaches at the Cynology Training Center and State Border Institute.

Tashkent, 17 October 2019

On October 15, 2019 a Regional Workshop for border guard and customs training institutions of Central Asian countries started its work in Tashkent within the framework of the Border Management in Central Asia (BOMCA) programme, financed by the European Union. The activity gathers delegates from all five Central Asian countries to discuss joint approach and continuous cooperation of training institutions towards the development of the unique, harmonised, and efficient training system for border guards and customs officers in the Central Asian region. The workshop is facilitated by the experts from the State Border Guard of Latvia and Riga Technical University.

On October 14, a transfer ceremony of video equipment purchased by BOMCA program for a total of 38,000 Euros was held at the Central Office of the Border Troops of the Republic of Tajikistan. Video surveillance systems – multichannel video recorders, internal and external video cameras, hard drives and uninterruptible power supplies and other components will be installed at checkpoints on the Tajik-Afghan border.

BOMCA launched a new round of National Steering Group meetings. The series of five meetings in Central Asia countries began in Ashgabat (Turkmenistan) on September 13, continues in Dushanbe (Tajikistan) on 23 September, Tashkent (Uzbekistan) on 26 September, Nur – Sultan (Kazakhstan) on 30 September and will terminate in Bishkek (Kyrgyzstan) on October 03, 2019.  

The BOMCA program purchased and transferred to the Higher Border Institute of the Border Troops of Tajikistan the multifunctional printing device XEROX WC 7845.Wide capabilities of this modern device (printing, scanning, copying in several formats, as well as a stapling) will optimize and modernize the methodological work and the educational process as such, promptly providing teachers and students with handouts, methodological printouts , newsletters, brochures and other printed materials, which can now be produced / duplicated within the Institute.

On 23rd September 2019 in Dushanbe , a ceremony of transfer of equipment purchased by BOMCA program for Customs Service of Tajikistan was held. Technical capacities of Customs Service of Tajikistan were strengthened by computers and printing devices with a total cost of 10,000 euros. The purchased technics will strengthen the capacities of Customs Service technical equipment in customs check points, which will contribute to improvement the quality and efficiency of customs control.

Regional workshop on strategies of reintegration of migrants was held in Nur-Sultan, Kazakhstan on 17-19 September. The event, facilitated by experts of International Center on Migration Policy Development (ICMPD), gathered 20 representatives from the agencies dealing with migration (Ministries of Foreign Affairs, Ministries of Interior, Migration Services) from Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan.